Great Expectations Part One - Thursday 30th November and Friday 1st December 2017.  Start time 7.00pm.

Tickets on sale from Main School reception now.

"Join us for the first half of an epic journey through the greatest story ever told. The tale of Pip, Charles Dickens' mighty "Great Expectations" will straddle the two ends of this academic year. Part One of this two-part adaptation will be performed next week on Thursday 30 November and Friday 1 December in the Main Hall at 7pm. (Please note the earlier than usual start time). Part Two will form our Trinity Term drama production in July 2018. Lose yourself in the interlocking destinies of some of the most celebrated characters in English Literature, brought to life by a huge and eclectic cast drawn from students in every year group in the school and with a record number of teaching staff mining their thespian talent! This promises to be a very special evening of live theatre."

Library News

Year 8 Librarians Receive Silver Award

Toward the end of Lent term we were delighted to award our team of Yr 8 Pupil Librarians with the silver award for the Pupil Librarian training. The award which consists of 3 categories; bronze, silver and gold offers pupils taking part the opportunity to cover a wealth of library skills ranging from organising stock to even stock selection. The SLA Pupil Librarian Toolkit continues to be used as our model for the scheme.

Lent term training ensured that our Librarians were very much involved in the successful Book Week, Harry Potter Book Night and the launch of the Carnegie Medal Book Award. Training also covered compiling book reviews, looking more closely at e-resources, display work, blog writing and how to get the best out of our resources - indeed our Librarians put 100% into all of these activities, while also aiming to boost pupil awareness of the Library. 

The process of recruiting new Librarians for September will very soon start all over again, when our existing team will present a showcase of their skills to pupils in Yr 7. The team will also be very much involved in the application process near to the end of this term – a key preparation for working life. 

As we now move forward and work toward the final stage of the award we wish our Librarians every success. Pupils involved also compete for the Pupil Librarian of the Year Award within school - including a chance to be nominated for the Pupil Librarian/Library Assistant of the Year Award which is a national award organised by the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals (CILIP) and the School Library Association.

Congratulations to our Pupil Librarians on completing their silver award:

Rowan Abbott, Muhammed Asif, Lucas Burridge, Eleanor Connell, Abigail Hardman, Ella Hardman, Owen Hardman, Maha, Hassan, Sophiya Kamil, Rhys Millington, Baylie Seery, Esme Wilcock and Hamza Yazin.

Prizes and certificates were awarded during a short presentation in the Library.



V. B. Dewhurst

Head of Library